Skip to main content

Cal LAW Pathway Outstanding Student Scholarship Award

The Cal LAW Pathways Student Scholarship Award assists aspiring lawyers in their educational pursuits. Each year, one high school law academy student and one community college law pathway student receives a monetary scholarship at the college of their choice in their journey towards a law degree.

Thank You!

Thank you to Phoong Law for sponsoring the 2024 Cal LAW Outstanding Student Scholarship Awards!

2024 Outstanding Student Scholarship Award

Kristen Perez, East Los Angeles City College

Ella Jaravata, San Diego Mesa College


Eligibility and Award Criteria

Students are nominated by their law teacher/professor based on their scholarship, participation, goals to give back to their community in the area of law, and financial need.

Past Recipients


Kristen Perez, East Los Angeles City College

Ella Jaravata, San Diego Mesa College


Darlene Martinez Balbuena – Santa Ana High School

Yazmin Baroumand – San Jose City College

Maridel De Los Reyes – Yerba Buena High School (Sponsored by California Lawyers Association)

Ricardo Gonzalez – East Los Angeles College (Sponsored by Fastcase)

Viridiana Santa Cruz Velez – Bakersfield College (Sponsored by Law School Admissions Council)


Michelle Reyes – Santa Ana Elizabeth G. Macias Legal Studies Academy, Santa Ana ($500)

Prescilla Rodriguez – East Los Angeles College, Los Angeles ($500)

Ronishlla Devika L. Maharaj – Richmond High School Law Academy, Richmond ($1000)

Allea Nojadera – San Diego Mesa College, San Diego ($1000) Sponsored by LSAC

Zofia Trexler – Fresno City College, Fresno ($1000) Sponsored by Fastcase


Trinity A. Watson, McClatchy High School, Sacramento ($1000)

Valeria Coronado, ELAC/UCLA, Los Angeles ($1000) Sponsored by Fastcase

Mario A. Verdiguel, LA Mission/CSUNorthridge, Los Angeles ($1000) Sponsored by Law School Admission Council

Laiza Chavez, Florin High School, Elk Grove ($300 NCLA Virtual)

Monica Murga, Crawford High School ($300 NCLA Virtual)


Asia Thompson, DeAnza High School (2014), UC San Diego (2018), UCLA School of Law (2021) Sponsored by FastCase

Ariadne Ruby Hernandez, Bullard High School Law Academy, Fresno ($1000)

Preatty Gates, Luther Burbank High School Law Academy (NCLA $1800)


Shvata Malhotra,, UC Davis, Davis, CA ($1000), LSAT exam

Jennifer Bonilla, Santa Ana High School Law Academy, Santa Ana, CA ($1000)

Lia Mimun, El Dorado High School Law Academy (NCLA $1800)


Arabella Compton, Jesse Bethel Law Academy in Vallejo, California, is a freshman at UC Santa Barbara. ($1000)

Joaquin E. Diaz De Leon is in his last year in the Law Pathway at Delta College in Stockton, CA. ($1000)

Taunu’uimatavai Vitale, Cabrillo High School, Long Beach (NCLA $1600)


Hennah Vohra, DeAnza High School Law Academy in Richmond, California, is a sophomore at Middlebury College in Vermont. ($1000)

Aneth Flores-Gonzalez, Southwestern College in San Diego, California, is a senior at University of California in Berkeley, CA. ($1000)